You are here

The Ramblers (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
The Ramblers Cover Image
$15.99
On Our Shelves Now
15 on hand, as of Dec 15 6:45am
(Fiction)

Staff Reviews


This is a happy, wise, life-affirming, love-affirming book, and yet I, who am usually drawn to rather sad, bittersweet novels, loved it. The story, set in NYC which is brought delightfully and vividly to life, is told alternately through the eyes of three interconnected, smart and likeable characters over the course of one week. Each has a fascinating career about which they are passionate and through them, the reader will learn about photography, NYC literary and historic trivia, ornithology, and the art of organizing and simplifying ones life. All three characters have fairly recently experienced a devastatingly painful, life-altering event which they struggle to understand by recalling their painful pasts in moving details and images. In this pivotal week, they are also each awakened to the promise of a brighter future. They learn from each other, they learn from the past how to forgive, and from the present that healing does happen. This is a book full of suffering, hope and joy; it is an uplifting read for anyone who needs a reminder that out of intese sorrow can come unbelievable joy. I think it was kismet that I happened to pick up this book to read at a rather pivotal point in my life; I was at a crossroads of sorts and was ready for a joyful read. This book will always hold a special place in my heart.

— From Jeanne's Picks

Description


For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Claire Messud, and Emma Straub, a gorgeous and absorbing novel of a trio of confused souls struggling to find themselves and the way forward in their lives, set against the spectacular backdrop of contemporary New York City.

Set in the most magical parts of Manhattan--the Upper West Side, Central Park, Greenwich Village--The Ramblers explores the lives of three lost souls, bound together by friendship and family. During the course of one fateful Thanksgiving week, a time when emotions run high and being with family can be a mixed blessing, Rowley's sharply defined characters explore the moments when decisions are deliberately made, choices accepted, and pasts reconciled.

Clio Marsh, whose bird-watching walks through Central Park are mentioned in New York Magazine, is taking her first tentative steps towards a relationship while also looking back to the secrets of her broken childhood. Her best friend, Smith Anderson, the seemingly-perfect daughter of one of New York's wealthiest families, organizes the lives of others as her own has fallen apart. And Tate Pennington has returned to the city, heartbroken but determined to move ahead with his artistic dreams.

Rambling through the emotional chaos of their lives, this trio learns to let go of the past, to make room for the future and the uncertainty and promise that it holds. The Ramblers is a love letter to New York City--an accomplished, sumptuous novel about fate, loss, hope, birds, friendship, love, the wonders of the natural world and the mysteries of the human spirit.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062413321
ISBN-10: 0062413325
Publisher: William Morrow & Company
Publication Date: October 4th, 2016
Pages: 416
Language: English