You are here

A Snicker of Magic (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
A Snicker of Magic Cover Image
$6.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Dec 11 5:01am
(Middle Grade, Kids)

Staff Reviews


Are some towns more magical than others? Sixth-grader Felicity Pickle (whose name I love, by the way) certainly hopes so. Ever since her dad left, she has been bouncing from place to place with her mother and sister. Now they are moving back to her mother's hometown of Midnight Gulch, home to Dr. Zook's Famous Ice Cream Factory, and a place that used to be magical until a mysterious curse ruined it. But as it turns out, the magic may not be completely gone after all. Many of the residents possess special talents, including Felicity herself who sees words floating above everyone's head. Will the Pickles stay in Midnight Gulch, and can their "snicker of magic" bring the town back to life? This is really fun story, highly recommended for fans of Savvy, A Tangle of Knots, and Because of Winn-Dixie.

— From Jill's Picks

Description


Natalie Lloyd's SPINDIDDLY debut novel, now in paperback
Midnight Gulch used to be a magical place, a town where people could sing up thunderstorms and dance up sunflowers. But that was long ago, before a curse drove the magic away. Twelve-year-old Felicity knows all about things like that; her nomadic mother is cursed with a wandering heart.
But when she arrives in Midnight Gulch, Felicity thinks her luck's about to change. A "word collector," Felicity sees words everywhere---shining above strangers, tucked into church eves, and tangled up her dog's floppy ears---but Midnight Gulch is the first place she's ever seen the word "home." And then there's Jonah, a mysterious, spiky-haired do-gooder who shimmers with words Felicity's never seen before, words that make Felicity's heart beat a little faster.
Felicity wants to stay in Midnight Gulch more than anything, but first, she'll need to figure out how to bring back the magic, breaking the spell that's been cast over the town . . . and her mother's broken heart.

About the Author


Natalie Lloyd lives in Chattanooga, Tennessee. She collects old books, listens to bluegrass music, and loves exploring quirky mountain towns with her dog, Biscuit. She is the author of "A Snicker of Magic " and "The Key to Extraordinary."
Product Details
ISBN: 9780545552738
ISBN-10: 0545552737
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: April 28th, 2015
Pages: 320
Language: English