You are here

Patient H.M.: A Story of Memory, Madness, and Family Secrets (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Patient H.M.: A Story of Memory, Madness, and Family Secrets Cover Image
$20.00
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Dec 10 6:45am
(MEDICINE)

Staff Reviews


This is an extraordinary work of narrative nonfiction. Covering over 80 years of history, Dittrich explores the often dark evolution of neuroscience as it led up to the "birth" of Patient H.M. and the resulting memory research that occurred over the course of his life. But what makes this book remarkable is Dittrich's approach; it is less a straight biography and more a kaleidoscopic investigation for which the reader has been invited along. The role H.M. plays in the history of brain science is fascinating alone, but the dark undercurrent of Dittrich's intertwining family narrative makes this book especially riveting.

— From Kelsey's Picks

Description


"Oliver Sacks meets Stephen King"* in this propulsive, haunting journey into the life of the most studied human research subject of all time, the amnesic known as Patient H.M. For readers of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks comes a story that has much to teach us about our relentless pursuit of knowledge.

Winner of the PEN/E.O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award - Los Angeles Times Book Prize Winner

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
The Washington Post - New York Post - NPR - The Economist - New York - Wired - Kirkus Reviews - BookPage

In 1953, a twenty-seven-year-old factory worker named Henry Molaison--who suffered from severe epilepsy--received a radical new version of the then-common lobotomy, targeting the most mysterious structures in the brain. The operation failed to eliminate Henry's seizures, but it did have an unintended effect: Henry was left profoundly amnesic, unable to create long-term memories. Over the next sixty years, Patient H.M., as Henry was known, became the most studied individual in the history of neuroscience, a human guinea pig who would teach us much of what we know about memory today.

Patient H.M. is, at times, a deeply personal journey. Dittrich's grandfather was the brilliant, morally complex surgeon who operated on Molaison--and thousands of other patients. The author's investigation into the dark roots of modern memory science ultimately forces him to confront unsettling secrets in his own family history, and to reveal the tragedy that fueled his grandfather's relentless experimentation--experimentation that would revolutionize our understanding of ourselves.

Dittrich uses the case of Patient H.M. as a starting point for a kaleidoscopic journey, one that moves from the first recorded brain surgeries in ancient Egypt to the cutting-edge laboratories of MIT. He takes readers inside the old asylums and operating theaters where psychosurgeons, as they called themselves, conducted their human experiments, and behind the scenes of a bitter custody battle over the ownership of the most important brain in the world.

Patient H.M. combines the best of biography, memoir, and science journalism to create a haunting, endlessly fascinating story, one that reveals the wondrous and devastating things that can happen when hubris, ambition, and human imperfection collide.

Praise for Patient H.M.

"An exciting, artful blend of family and medical history."--The New York Times

"In prose both elegant and intimate, and often thrilling, Patient H.M. is an important book about the wages not of sin but of science."--The Washington Post

"Spellbinding . . . The fact that Dittrich looks critically at the actual process of scientific investigation is just one of the things to admire about Patient H.M."--The New York Times Book Review

"Patient H.M. tells one of the most fascinating and disturbing stories in the annals of medicine, weaving in ethics, philosophy, a personal saga, the history of neurosurgery, the mysteries of human memory, and an exploration of human ego."--Sheri Fink, M.D., Pulitzer Prize winner and author of Five Days at Memorial

"This is classic reporting and myth-making at the same time."--Colum McCann, author of Let the Great World Spin

*Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

About the Author


Luke Dittrich is a National Magazine Award-winning journalist, and a contributing editor at Esquire. This is his first book. From the Hardcover edition.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780812982527
ISBN-10: 0812982525
Publisher: Random House Trade
Publication Date: May 2nd, 2017
Pages: 480
Language: English