You are here

Runner (Mass Market Paperbound)

Staff Pick Logo
Runner Cover Image
$9.99
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Dec 15 6:45am
(Mystery/Thriller)

Staff Reviews


Fans of Lee Child and Harlen Coben will devour this book. Out for a run in the middle of the night, ex-special forces agent Sam Dryden encounteres a young girl running from a group of heavily armed men. The complex characters and non-stop action make this thriller unputdownable. The Runner was optioned for a movie before it was published.

— From Deb's Picks

March 2014 Indie Next List


“All I can say about this thriller is wow! When Sam Dryden decides to solve his insomnia by going for a run near the beach, he almost runs over a young girl who is also running, but definitely not for fun. She is being chased by what seems to be an army, and Sam - ex-military himself - can't help but come to her rescue. What follows is an exciting story of brainwashing and psychic manipulations all done for the wrong reasons. Sam and his young friend must always stay one step ahead of the folks who want to get her, but then Lee throws in an interesting twist to make readers question the identity of the real bad guys. An amazing book that will keep you up until you finish!”
— Barbara Kelly, Portland Bookstore, University of Southern Maine, Portland, ME

Description


"Breathless, involving, smart, and completely convincing."-Lee Child
In Patrick Lee's Runner, Sam Dryden, ex--Special Forces, lives a quiet life in a small town on the coast of Southern California. While out on a run in the middle of the night, he encounters a young girl on the seaside boardwalk. Barefoot and terrified, she's running from a group of heavily armed men with one clear goal: to kill her. Dryden learns that the twelve-year-old can only remember the past two months, during which she's been kept in a secret prison by forces within the government. Beyond her own name, Rachel, she knows only that she has a skill that makes her very dangerous to these men and those in charge of them.

"Nonstop action and nonstop fun." -Providence Journal
Dryden, who lost his wife and young daughter in an accident, agrees to help Rachel try to unravel and make sense of her own past, and to protect her from the people who are moving heaven and earth to find them both. Although Dryden is only one man, he has extraordinary skills and experience-as a Ranger, a Delta, and five years doing off-the-book black ops with an elite team. However, as he slowly begins to discover, the highly trained forces on their heels are only part of the danger they must face. Because there's something in Rachel's past-and it's more dangerous, and deadly, than Dryden can even imagine...
"Superbly engrossing."-USA Today

This edition of the book is the deluxe, tall rack mass market paperback.

About the Author


PATRICK LEE is the author of three previous bestselling novels: The Breach , Ghost Country, and Deep Sky. He lives in Michigan.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781250030740
ISBN-10: 1250030749
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: November 25th, 2014
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: Sam Dryden Novel