You are here

Eros the Bittersweet (Paperback)

Staff Pick Logo
Eros the Bittersweet Cover Image
$13.95
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Dec 12 1:01am
(Literary Crit & Bios)

Staff Reviews


O. Holy Book. Map love's golden ratio with one of our greatest contemporary artists and thinkers. Learn from Sappho's sweet, irresistable apples: "the reach of desire is defined in action: beautiful (in its object), foiled (in its attempt), endless (in time)." Dude. 

— From Gina's Picks

Description


A book about romantic love, "Eros the Bittersweet"is Anne Carson's exploration of the concept of "eros" in both classical philosophy and literature. Beginning with, "It was Sappho who first called eros 'bittersweet.' No one who has been in love disputes her," Carson examines her subject from numerous points of view, creating a lyrical meditation in the tradition of William Carlos Williams's "Spring and All" and William H. Gass's "On Being Blue."

About the Author


Anne Carson is the author of "Glass, Irony and God"; "Autobiography of Red"; "The Beauty of the Husband"; "Men in the Off Hours"; and other books.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781564781888
ISBN-10: 1564781887
Publisher: Dalkey Archive Press
Publication Date: March 1st, 1998
Pages: 190
Language: English
Series: American Literature (Dalkey Archive)