You are here

The Inner Lives of Markets: How People Shape Them--And They Shape Us (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Inner Lives of Markets: How People Shape Them--And They Shape Us Cover Image
$25.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Dec 11 5:01am
(Economics)

Staff Reviews


Focusing on outstanding contributions made over the past half century to applied economic theory, the authors introduce the concept of markets for non economists, and then explore interlinked examples of how markets work in POW camps, used car lots, medical resident "Match Days," food banks and hazardous waste disposal. For fans of Freakonomics and The Undercover Economist, this classroom worthy introducation will give readers a more ordered overview of what drives our organizations. 

— From Carla's Picks

Description


America's economic revolution isn't just driven by technology. It's about markets.

The past twenty-five years have witnessed a remarkable shift in how we get the stuff we want. If you've ever owned a business, rented an apartment, or shopped online, you've had a front-row seat for this revolution-in-progress. Breakthrough companies like Amazon and Uber have disrupted the old ways and made the economy work better--all thanks to technology.
At least that's how the story of the modern economy is usually told. But in this lucid, wry book, Ray Fisman and Tim Sullivan show that the revolution is bigger than tech: it is really a story about the transformation of markets. From the auction theories that power Google's ad sales algorithms to the models that online retailers use to prevent internet fraud, even the most high-tech modern businesses are empowered by theory first envisioned by economists.
And we're all participants in this revolution. Every time you book a room on Airbnb, hire a car on Lyft, or click on an ad, you too are reshaping our social institutions and our lives.

The Inner Lives of Markets is necessary reading for the modern world: it reveals the blueprint for how we work, live, and shop, and offers wisdom for how to do it better.

About the Author


Ray Fisman is the Slater Chair in Behavioral Economics at Boston University. Previously, he was Lambert Family Professor of Social Enterprise and co-director of the Social Enterprise Program at the Columbia Business School. He is the author of The Org, with Tim Sullivan, and Economic Gangsters, with Ted Miguel. Tim Sullivan is the editorial director of Harvard Business Review Press and has worked at Basic Books, Portfolio, and Princeton University Press, where he helped build one of the most successful academic economics lists in the world.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781610394925
ISBN-10: 1610394925
Publisher: PublicAffairs
Publication Date: June 7th, 2016
Pages: 224
Language: English