You are here

One Hundred Spaghetti Strings (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
One Hundred Spaghetti Strings Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of May 24 9:45pm
(Middle Grade, Kids)

Staff Reviews


Television cooking shows are a favorite of many middle schoolers, and thanks to One Hundred Spaghetti Strings, girls, at least, will no longer have to turn to cozy cupcake mysteries alone to get their foodie fix from books. Steffy, our eleven year old heroine--and a good cook--and her older sister Nina, are living with their Aunt Gina. Their mother has suffered a traumatic brain injury, which has left her doing long term rehab in a nursing home. Steffy and Nina's mostly absent dad has some problems of his own.  Struggles like his are more often explored in young adult novels, but are certainly part of the experience of millions of real middle schoolers. I like that this novel treats life's bumps in an optimistic but never saccharine fashion. No perfect happy endings, but there are recipes!

 

— From Carla's Picks

Description


One Hundred Spaghetti Strings is one hundred percent satisfying. A perfectly blended concoction.” —Julie Sternberg, acclaimed author of Like Pickle Juice on a Cookie

This brave and heartwarming middle grade novel will leave your belly rumbling and your heart full. Because when life hands you lemons, it’s time to get cooking! Perfect for fans of Sarah Weeks, Leslie Connor, and Lynda Mullaly Hunt.

Since Steffy was little, she and her older sister, Nina, have lived with their beloved Auntie Gina. But when the girls’ dad comes home to live with them, everything changes. So Steffy does what she does best: She cooks her way through the hardest year of her life.

Sometimes it feels like everything but the kitchen sink is being thrown at her—too many ingredients that don't quite work. And all Steffy wants is for her family to be whole again. Can her recipes help bring them back together?

One Hundred Spaghetti Strings also includes over twenty recipes—which Steffy cooks throughout the book—so aspiring young chefs can try them out when they’re done reading!

Praise For…


“Nails serves up a platter of tender, poignant goodies.”

“Steffy’s growing understanding of what makes a family and journey to find her voice through food are powerful, and her story is rich with fodder for discussion.”

“Poignant and full of life and heartache … and wishing and dreaming … and pain and exuberance. Steffy’s voice is honest and clear, young and yet deeply tuned in; she is a real girl, right here and now, a girl readers will want to befriend.”

“Steffy made me want to cook a big bowl of pasta and sit down for dinner with my loved ones.”

One Hundred Spaghetti Strings is one hundred percent satisfying. I love how Steffy tells the tale of her imperfect family members and all her efforts to turn them into a perfectly blended concoction. Her relatives might be unmanageable, but they’re the ideal ingredients for a good story.”
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062427601
ISBN-10: 0062427601
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: April 11th, 2017
Pages: 320
Language: English