You are here

When You Read This: A Novel (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
When You Read This: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
On Our Shelves Now
5 on hand, as of Jun 18 10:40pm
(Fiction)

Staff Reviews


Executive marketing assistant Iris Massey is also the author of the website "Dying to Blog," and yes, poor Iris is. This sad funny story unfolds in blog entries and emails to and from Iris's boss Smith--whose brand management business is in serious and self-inflicted trouble, and her sister Jade, a chef who is better at dishing it out than taking it in. Comic relief is provided by ambitious intern Carl (worthy of his own book!) who has never composed an email that he should have sent. Although the random client communications and accusations, blog comments, solicitations, emojis and heartfelt epistles are all tangled in the sargassum of their inboxes, the novel's characters manage to thread their way through loss and love to the reader's heart.

— From Carla's Picks

February 2019 Indie Next List


“Death is called the final act, but for our loved ones who survive us, the show inevitably goes on. In When You Read This, Mary Adkins gives equal stage time to Iris Massey, a woman recently diagnosed with terminal cancer who begins a blog about her experiences, and those she has left behind. Grief is a unifying theme in this novel, from Iris, who struggles to come to terms with her death, to her sister, Jade, who is left rudderless without her, and even Iris’ boss, Smith, who is determined to fulfill Iris’ last request of having her blog published as a book. Poignant and bittersweet, When You Read This is a well-rounded blend of romance, comedy, and drama.”
— Heather Herbaugh, Mitzi's Books, Rapid City, SD

Description


Fans of Where'd You Go, Bernadette will love this. . . a bittersweet, often funny novel about hope, memory, and loose ends.”

-Real Simple, “The Best Books of 2019 (So Far)”

A comedy-drama for the digital age: an epistolary debut novel about the ties that bind and break our hearts, for fans of Maria Semple and Rainbow Rowell.
Iris Massey is gone.
But she’s left something behind.

For four years, Iris Massey worked side by side with PR maven Smith Simonyi, helping clients perfect their brands. But Iris has died, taken by terminal illness at only thirty-three. Adrift without his friend and colleague, Smith is surprised to discover that in her last six months, Iris created a blog filled with sharp and often funny musings on the end of a life not quite fulfilled. She also made one final request: for Smith to get her posts published as a book. With the help of his charmingly eager, if overbearingly forthright, new intern Carl, Smith tackles the task of fulfilling Iris’s last wish.

Before he can do so, though, he must get the approval of Iris’ big sister Jade, an haute cuisine chef who’s been knocked sideways by her loss. Each carrying their own baggage, Smith and Jade end up on a collision course with their own unresolved pasts and with each other.

Told in a series of e-mails, blog posts, online therapy submissions, text messages, legal correspondence, home-rental bookings, and other snippets of our virtual lives, When You Read This is a deft, captivating romantic comedy—funny, tragic, surprising, and bittersweet—that candidly reveals how we find new beginnings after loss.

About the Author


Mary Adkins is a writer whose work has appeared in the New York Times and the Atlantic. A native of the American South and a graduate of Duke University and Yale Law School, she lives in New York City with her family. She also teaches storytelling for The Moth.

 

Praise For…


“Delightful… An epistolary novel for the 21st century, When You Read This sparkles with a perfect blend of humor, pathos and romance…. Adkins has managed to paint an authentic and nuanced portrait of grief and the various ways people attempt to cope and continue on with life when the worst has happened. Inventive and irresistible, When You Read This is a tender and uplifting story about love,  loss and the resilience of the human heart that will have you laughing and crying in equal turns.”
BookPage

“Stellar. . . witty, entertaining and at times heartwrenching. . . . When You Read This is an outstanding addition to contemporary literature that effectively addresses the issues people face today in a poignant and cleverly insightful manner. It is a true standout and should not be missed.”
— BookReporter

“Adkins brilliantly captures the rhythms and cadences of the epistolary format in the digital age through a delightful cast of quirky, imperfect characters, both dead and alive. Tart, sweet, poignant, and rich with humor; completely irresistible.”
Library Journal (starred review)

When You Read This checks all the essential boxes of Up Lit—though-provoking, tear-jerking, funny—and adds a delectable epistolary twist.”
Refinery29

“A touching, funny, and life-affirming tale.”
Publishers Weekly

“[A] heartfelt page-turner . . . A natural readalike for Maria Semple’s Where’d You Go Bernadette and Rainbow Rowell’s Attachments.”
Booklist

“This inventive and hilarious novel has it all: Mid-life crisis sufferers denying their regrets, a lawless intern with alarming email etiquette, poetic online therapists and a moving message about the resiliency of the human heart. Read this book—I loved it!”
Courtney Maum, author of Touch and I Am Having So Much Fun Here Without You

“Warm, original, funny and heartbreaking, this novel made me drop everything so I could read it in one lovely afternoon. WHEN YOU READ THIS is inventive and witty, but more importantly it’s honest and wise. I adored it.”
Jennifer Close, author of Girls in White Dresses and The Hopefuls

“Deeply moving but also uplifting, Mary Adkins’ debut novel is easy to read but hard to forget.”
Anne Youngson, author of Meet Me at the Museum

“I loved every word of this sweet little gem of a book. It was a quick, humorous—but ultimately touching—read that I couldn’t put down!”
Meg Cabot
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062834676
ISBN-10: 0062834673
Publisher: Harper
Publication Date: February 5th, 2019
Pages: 384
Language: English