The Silverblood Promise: The Last Legacy, Book 1 (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Silverblood Promise: The Last Legacy, Book 1 By James Logan Cover Image

The Silverblood Promise: The Last Legacy, Book 1 (Paperback)

$19.99


On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of May 20 8:35pm
(SciFi and Fantasy)

Staff Reviews


An Epic fantasy that I flew through. Not usually my  genre; but this one had me in the opening pages. The wit, humor and action-packed adventure made for a thrilling read. Definitely a “Book Hangover” read; and an outstanding debut! 

Now, I have to wait for the next book in this series. …I’ll try to be patient.

— From Shannon's Picks

"A fast-paced carnival of setbacks and skullduggery that reminds me of... me! Charming from the first twist to the last."Scott Lynch

Set in a city of traders and thieves, monsters and murderers, this page-turning epic fantasy debut is a must-read for fans of Nicholas Eames and Joe Abercrombie.

Lukan Gardova is a cardsharp, academy dropout, and—thanks to a duel that ended badly—the disgraced heir to an ancient noble house. His days consist of cheap wine, rigged card games, and wondering how he might win back the life he threw away.

When Lukan discovers that his estranged father has been murdered in strange circumstances, he finds fresh purpose. Deprived of his chance to make amends for his mistakes, he vows to unravel the mystery behind his father's death.

His search for answers leads him to Saphrona, fabled city of merchant princes, where anything can be bought if one has the coin. Lukan only seeks the truth, but instead he finds danger and secrets in every shadow.

For in Saphrona, everything has a price—and the price of truth is the deadliest of all.

James Logan was born in the southeast of England where he grew up on a diet of Commodore 64 computer games, Fighting Fantasy gamebooks, and classic eighties cartoons, which left him with a love of all things fantastical. He lives in London and works in publishing. The Silverblood Promise is his first novel.
Product Details ISBN: 9781250345806
ISBN-10: 1250345804
Publisher: Tor Books
Publication Date: May 7th, 2024
Pages: 528
Language: English
Series: The Last Legacy

Praise for The Silverblood Promise:

"A fast-paced carnival of setbacks and skullduggery that reminds me of... me! Charming from the first twist to the last."—Scott Lynch, author of The Lies of Locke Lamora

"The first volume of this sure-to-be-stellar series is a ribald, swashbuckling tale of treacheries, lies, and characters as gritty and cutthroat as anyone you’d meet in a tavern at midnight. Don’t miss these first steps into an epic world—one I can’t wait to tread again."—James Rollins, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Starless Crown and The Cradle of Ice

"There’s never a dull moment in this instantly absorbing debut that offers effortless escapism. Perfect for fans of the 'Mistborn' series by Brandon Sanderson."—Library Journal (starred review)

"Enough grit to make you flinch, enough heart to make you punch the air, this book will have dark fantasy lovers burning through the pages. Everything that's good about modern fantasy is here. "—Ed McDonald, author of Daughter of Redwinter

"An engaging and action-packed fantasy read."—James Islington, author of The Licanius Trilogy

"An engrossing fantasy romp full of endearing characters, The Silverblood Promise is full of unexpected twists and turns, and an optimistic spirit. Relentlessly entertaining, defiantly idealistic, it’s a daring debut filled to the brim with classic fantasy fun."—Sebastien de Castell, author of Traitor's Blade

"[A] winning debut... Logan has an evident fondness for both the choreographed crime of Scott Lynch’s Gentlemen Bastards series and the underdog politics of Seth Dickinson’s Baru Cormorant books, while adding hints of a deeper backstory of lost empires and legendary supernatural threats."—Publishers Weekly

"A fast-paced, addicting read chock full of action, adventure, and good, old-fashioned skullduggery! You'll get sucked in by the world and the story's intrigue, but you'll stay for the wit, humor, and heart. Fans of Lynch's The Lies of Locke Lamora, Jackson Bennett's Foundryside, or Netflix's Arcane will find plenty to love in these pages."—M.J. Kuhn, author of Among Thieves