Surviving the Wild: Star the Elephant (Paperback)

Surviving the Wild: Star the Elephant By Remy Lai Cover Image

Surviving the Wild: Star the Elephant (Paperback)

$8.99


Usually Available in 2-5 Days

Planet Earth meets Narwhal and Jelly in this funny and suspenseful young reader graphic novel adventure series featuring heroic animals! Inspired by true events, the book includes facts about climate change, elephants, and how kids can help protect the environment.

"A heartening and pensive story, told through irresistibly charming art, Star the Elephant is an utter delight." —John Patrick Green, New York Times-bestselling creator of InvestiGators


Star the Elephant and his herd are searching for a new home. But when Star is separated from his family, he must journey alone into the great unknown. He'll come face to face with giant spiders, the vast ocean beyond his island, and strange humans. Can Star find his way back to his family?

Remy Lai studied fine arts, with a major in painting and drawing. She was born in Indonesia, grew up in Singapore, and currently lives in Brisbane, Australia, where she writes and draws stories for kids with her two dogs by her side. She is the author of the critically-acclaimed Pie in the Sky, Fly on the Wall, Pawcasso, the Surviving the Wild series, Ghost Book, Read at Your Own Risk, and Chickenpox.
Product Details ISBN: 9781250799159
ISBN-10: 1250799155
Publisher: Square Fish
Publication Date: April 9th, 2024
Pages: 112
Language: English
Series: Surviving the Wild

Praise for Surviving the Wild

*
"Pulled in by simple yet adorable illustrations . . . this tender tale packs an all too timely environmental message." —School Library Journal, starred review

* "Though high on the adorable factor, this is also a ­powerful, stirring ­example of the ­devastating impact of climate change." —School Library Journal, starred review, on Rainbow the Koala

“A heartening and pensive story, told through irresistibly charming art, Star the Elephant is an utter delight.” —John Patrick Green, New York Times-bestselling creator of InvestiGators

"Gorgeously drawn and bursting with charm, adventure, and tenderness. . . Star the Elephant is a pure delight for young readers." —Jonathan Stutzman, author of Llama Destroys the World

Praise for Pawcasso

"It's tail-wagging entertaining!" —Kelly Yang, New York Times bestselling author

"A beautifully drawn and delightful story bursting with art, books, and fun!" Maria Scrivan, New York Times bestselling author

Fly on the Wall


A Best Book of the Year for Kirkus, Booklist, Chicago Public Library, and School Library Journal!

“Funny, enthralling, and a great reminder that being a little odd isn’t a bad thing.” —Kayla Miller, author of Click and Camp

"Bright, funny storytelling . . . in this sharp, sweet story there is much to connect with." —The New York Times Book Review

* "Near-misses and laugh-out-loud moments abound, which will endear it to readers who like 'Big Nate' and 'Wimpy Kid.'" —School Library Journal, starred review

* "A smile-inducing crowd-pleaser." —Booklist, starred review

Pie in the Sky

Winner of the Sid Fleischman Award for Humor!

Named a Best Book of the Year by Parents Magazine, NPR, New York Public Library, Chicago Public Library, BookRiot, Horn Book, and Kirkus! An Indie Next pick!

"Heartwarming and rib-tickling." —Terri Libenson, bestselling author of Invisible Emmie

* "Perfect for fans of Gene Luen Yang and Victoria Jamieson." —Shelf Awareness, starred review

* "The perfect mixture of funny and emotionally resonant." —School Library Journal, starred review

"[A] stunning debut." —NPR