Whispering Pines (Paperback)

Whispering Pines Cover Image

Whispering Pines (Paperback)

$8.99


On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Oct 20 10:03am
(Middle Grade, Kids)
Stranger Things meets The X-Files in this eerie, heart-pounding middle grade adventure about a young boy and girl who must protect their small town from otherworldly forces threatening to destroy it.

Rae’s father vanished without a trace—and Rae knows what happened to him. But no one believes her when she says that her father didn’t run off, that he was actually taken. Now, a year of therapy later, Rae’s mother decides they need a fresh start, and so they move to a new town in the hope that life can return to normal.

The problem is, there is nothing normal about the town of Whispering Pines.

No one knows this better than Caden. He’s lived in Whispering Pines his entire life, and he’s seen more than his fair share of weird—starting with his own family, as the town is the perfect home base for his mother’s ghost hunting business.

When several kids go missing and then show up like zombies with their eyes removed, many locals brush it off. Just another day in Whispering Pines. But Caden has a dark secret, one that may explain why someone is stealing eyes. And Rae, who knows how it feels to not be believed, may be just the person Caden needs to help him put things right.
Heidi Lang managed to stumble upon the two best jobs in the world: writing for kids and walking dogs. If she’s not out on the trails surrounded by wagging tails and puppy kisses, she’s probably hunched over her laptop working on her next book. She lives in northern California with her husband and two adventure-loving dogs, and she is the coauthor of the Mystic Cooking Chronicles and Whispering Pines series and author of Out of Range. Find her on Twitter @HidLang or visit the website she shares with her writing partner at HeidiandKatiBooks.com.

Kati Bartkowski was originally drawn to illustration before she got swept up in the world of words. Nowadays she’s a fan of creating fantastical creatures and feisty heroines in both mediums. If she’s not reading, writing, or drawing, she’s probably chasing after her high energy little girl. She lives in northern California and is the coauthor of the Mystic Cooking Chronicles and Whispering Pines series. Find her on Twitter @KTBartkowski or visit the website she shares with her writing partner at HeidiandKatiBooks.com.
Product Details ISBN: 9781534460485
ISBN-10: 1534460489
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Publication Date: September 14th, 2021
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: Whispering Pines
PRAISE FOR WHISPERING PINES:

“A thrilling novel perfect for fans of Stranger Things and stories filled with mystery and suspense.” – Booklist, starred review 

“Perfect for reading under a blanket with a flashlight.” – Kirkus Reviews 

“Like ‘Goosebumps,’ but for an older audience, this book seems custom made for kids who like a good scare.” – School Library Journal 

“Delightful mash-up of science fiction, ghost stories, and horror.” – BCCB 

“An unpredictable, unrelenting adventure.” – Publishers Weekly