You are here

Seven Taoist Masters: A Folk Novel of China (Paperback)

Seven Taoist Masters: A Folk Novel of China Cover Image
By Eva Wong (Translated by)
In Stock at Publisher - Usually Available in 1-5 Days


History and legend are interwoven in this classic folk novel that both entertains and explores the philosophy and practices of Taoism
Written by an unknown author, Seven Taoist Masters is the story of six men and one woman who overcome tremendous hardships on the journey to self-mastery. These characters and their teacher, Wang Ch'ung-yang, are all historical figures who lived in the Southern Sung (1127–1279) and Yuan (1271–1368) dynasties. Wang is regarded as the greatest patriarch of the Complete Reality school, a highly purified branch of Taoism having a strong affinity with Zen Buddhism. 

At once an entertaining novel and a Taoist training manual, Seven Taoist Masters brings to life the essentials of Taoist philosophy and practice, both through the instructions offered by Wang—on topics such as the cultivation of mind and body, meditation techniques, and overcoming the obstacles to enlightenment—and through the experiences of its unforgettable characters.

About the Author

Eva Wong is an independent scholar and practitioner of the Taoist arts of the Pre-Celestial Way and Complete Reality lineages. She has written and translated many books on Taoism and related topics, including Taoism: An Essential Guide, Cultivating Stillness, A Master Course in Feng-shui. Nourishing the Essence of Life, and Seven Taoist Masters.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781590301760
ISBN-10: 1590301765
Publisher: Shambhala
Publication Date: October 26th, 2004
Pages: 208
Language: English
Series: Shambhala Classics