You are here

The Story Prize: 15 Years of Great Short Fiction (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Story Prize: 15 Years of Great Short Fiction Cover Image
By Larry Dark (Editor), Anthony Doerr (Contribution by), Elizabeth Strout (Contribution by)
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Apr 9 10:03am

Staff Reviews

I love short stories. A superb short story has the potential to short-circuit me for days. So The Story Prize, the anthology of short stories by the past Story Prize winners, has discombobulated me to new levels! This reminds me of the Beatles 1 album, a collection of the best of the best by the best. I loved revisiting old favorites (Saunders, McCracken) and discovering new ones (Mary Gordon!), and I also love that I can put this in any reader's hands, even the ones who insist they don't do short story collections, and know there's a real chance of converting them to this brilliant form once and for all.

— From Lillian


"You don't often get collections, or even anthologies where every story knocks you out, but I've been bewildered in the best way over each one in The Story Prize] so far." --Lillian Li, author of Number One Chinese Restaurant

This anthology of short stories marks the fifteenth anniversary of The Story Prize and includes one story from each of the annual winning collections, beginning with Edwidge Danticat's The Dew Breaker and concluding with Elizabeth Strout's Anything Is Possible. The founder of The Story Prize, Julie Lindsey, and its director, Larry Dark, created this award to address the lack of one specifically for collections of stories. Together they choose three finalists from the previous year's publications, which are sent to three judges--an author, a bookseller or librarian, and a critic or editor--who, independently of one another, relay their choices.

The prize is then presented at an annual celebration in New York, where the finalists read from their books and then discuss their work with Dark. Excerpts from these interviews--or, in a few cases, the judges' citations--introduce each story in the book. The authors chose the stories included to read at the annual Story Prize event.

About the Author

LARRY DARK has been the director of The Story Prize since its inception in 2004. Before that, he served as series editor for six volumes of The O. Henry Prize Stories (1997-2002) and compiled, edited, and introduced four other anthologies: Literary Outtakes, The Literary Ghost, The Literary Lover, and The Literary Traveler.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781936787630
ISBN-10: 1936787636
Publisher: Catapult
Publication Date: March 5th, 2019
Pages: 400
Language: English