You are here

In case you missed it: Deb's Mystery Picks

In case you couldn't come to our Brunch with a Bookseller featuring Deb and her mystery picks, we've compiled the list of recommendations for you! More of Deb's staff picks can be found here, and you can check out our calendar of events here.

Books: 
Still Life: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780312541538
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Minotaur Books - September 30th, 2008

The first in the Inspector Gamache series, and they just get better with every book!


Staff Pick Badge
The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie: A Flavia de Luce Mystery Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780385343497
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bantam - January 19th, 2010

Introducing Flavia de Luce, precocious 11-year-old aspiring chemist and sleuth. Ignored by her older sisters and eccentric father, Flavia finds time to investigate all sorts of things in her small English town. Her nosiness comes in handy when a stranger dies mysteriously in her garden.  A great beginning to a wonderful series!


In the Woods: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143113492
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - May 27th, 2008

Conviction Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316528504
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mulholland Books - June 18th, 2019

STOP! Don’t buy this book unless you are prepared to ignore phones, meals, and all other distractions until you finish it. It starts innocently enough with Anna McDonald, a Scottish housewife up early to drink coffee and listen to a her favorite true-crime podcast before her children and husband wake. As she listens,  Anna is startled to realize that she has a connection to the suspect. Fast forward a couple of hours, and Anna’s husband has left her for her best friend and has taken the friend and Anna’s children on an extended holiday. Pretty tame, yes? Well, get ready for a roller coaster ride featuring Hitchcockian level paranoia, very dark humor, and multiple identities. Perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo, Thomas Harris, and Ruth Ware.


Runner (A Sam Dryden Novel #1) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781250030740
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Paperbacks - November 25th, 2014

Fans of Lee Child and Harlen Coben will devour this book. Out for a run in the middle of the night, ex-special forces agent Sam Dryden encounteres a young girl running from a group of heavily armed men. The complex characters and non-stop action make this thriller unputdownable. The Runner was optioned for a movie before it was published.


Need to Know: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781524797041
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - July 24th, 2018

This is a dazzling debut!  Vivian Miller is a CIA analyst, working to access the computer of the leader of a Russian sleeper cell.  As she searches the files that could give her information about the other members of the cell, she clicks on a files called "Friends". In the file there are pictures of 5 people. One of them is her husband...

In this heart-pounding thriller, Cleveland ratchets up the suspense with every chapter. Plan to spend some time with this one. You won't be able to stop reading until the very last page!


Staff Pick Badge
In a Dark, Dark Wood Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501112331
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - April 19th, 2016

When Nora awakes in the hospital, covered with blood, she know that she did something horrible, but she can't remember what happened.  Her last memory is of reluctantly attending a bachelorette party for a woman she lost touch with after high school.  In the same vein of Girl on a Train, the mystery is revealed slowly, and the narrator may or may not be unreliable.  A delicious pageturner!


The Beekeeper's Apprentice: or, On the Segregation of the Queen (A Mary Russell Mystery #1) Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781250055705
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - May 27th, 2014

The Samurai's Wife: A Novel (Sano Ichiro Novels #5) Cover Image
$20.99
ISBN: 9781250035783
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - October 1st, 2012