David

Staff Pick Badge
Last Call: A True Story of Love, Lust, and Murder in Queer New York By Elon Green Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250833020
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Celadon Books - June 7th, 2022

This True Crime story of the "Last Call Killer," who targeted Gay men in 80s and 90s NYC is a gripping, tragic account told in the manner of your favorite true crime podcasts. It also serves as a history lesson about the struggle for Queer rights in a time when being out was dangerous, and the gay community was being disproportionately stigmatized and shunned because of AIDS. 

Informative and thrilling in equal measure. I couldn't put it down.

-David


Staff Pick Badge
100 Boyfriends By Brontez Purnell Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780374538989
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: MCD x FSG Originals - February 2nd, 2021

This is not the story of a "great love." This collection of stories is representative of real life, filled with the wild and weird cast of characters we spend our time with as we pursue our goal of connection. Many queer people seek the love our biological families couldn't (or wouldn't) provide us through our romantic relationships. In Purnell's deptiction of various boyfriends, lovers, and one night stands, he paints a picture of the community gay men create for themselves.

Raunchy, hilarious, and heartfelt, this book is sure to entertain and provoke.

-David


Staff Pick Badge
Happy Hour: A Novel By Marlowe Granados Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781839764011
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Verso Fiction - September 7th, 2021

A modern day successor to Breakfast at Tiffany's and Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, Happy Hour follows the adventures of Isa and her best friend Gala as they exemplify what it's like to be young, broke, and living in New York City. Your early 20's are a heady, hilarious, and heartbreaking time to experience The Big Apple, and there's nothing else like it.

- David


Staff Pick Badge
Capote's Women: A True Story of Love, Betrayal, and a Swan Song for an Era By Laurence Leamer Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593328088
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - October 12th, 2021

Betrayal. Gossip. Scandal. As one of the most notorious and celebrated authors of the twentieth century, Truman Capote made headlines when he betrayed his "swans" (a group of influential NYC socialites) by basing fiction on their most intimate secrets. This ignited one of the most fabled literary feuds of all time. Leamer does an excellent job telling the story while keeping it just dishy enough to have you wanting more. 

-David


Staff Pick Badge
Detransition, Baby: A Novel By Torrey Peters Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593133385
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: One World - October 5th, 2021

Peters brings a refreshingly original voice to queer fiction. This novel brings up questions about gender and parenthood that very few authors have the guts to discuss. Peters does, but she won't let you off with any easy answers.

-David


Staff Pick Badge
Just as I Am: A Memoir By Cicely Tyson Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9780062931061
Availability: Usually Available in 2-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins Publishers - January 26th, 2021

Staff Pick Badge
Hola Papi: How to Come Out in a Walmart Parking Lot and Other Life Lessons By John Paul Brammer Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781982141493
Availability: Usually Available in 2-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster - June 8th, 2021

Staff Pick Badge
Looking for Lorraine: The Radiant and Radical Life of Lorraine Hansberry By Imani Perry Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9780807039830
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Beacon Press - September 17th, 2019

Staff Pick Badge
The Prophets By Robert Jones, Jr. Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593085691
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - February 8th, 2022

This lyrical deut novel tells the queer love story of Isaiah and Samuel, two enslaved men on the same plantation. Told from multiple perspectives, it emphasizes storytelling as a communal act and how we are all connected through the past and present. Filled with captivatingly poetic prose, The Prophets is perfect for fans of Toni Morrison and James Baldwin. This book stayed with me long after I finished reading. 

-David


Staff Pick Badge
Mike Nichols: A Life By Mark Harris Cover Image
$35.00
Email info@literatibookstore.com or call for price
ISBN: 9780399562242
Published: Penguin Press - February 2nd, 2021

Mike Nichols was one of the most prolific directors of stage and screen in the latter half of the Twentieth Century. This comprehensive biography is engaging and informative, looking at Nichols as both an artist and a tremendously complex individual. Expect cameos from Meryl Streep, Dustin Hoffman, Cher, Jack Nicholson and the myriad of characters who were both his friends and collaborators. Perfect for anyone who loves movies. 

-David


Staff Pick Badge
Manywhere: Stories By Morgan Thomas Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780374602482
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: MCD - January 25th, 2022

This debut collection of short stories about gender non-conformity is transporting and unique. The characters are flawed, but deeply relatable. The language is transfixing and easy to digest, and I found myself wanting to live in the world of these stories long after I finished reading. A refreshingly new queer voice.

-David


Staff Pick Badge
High-Risk Homosexual: A Memoir By Edgar Gomez Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781593767051
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soft Skull - January 11th, 2022

This hilarious and heartfelt debut collection of essays was an absolute joy to read. Gomez writes about his struggle to embrace his authentic self in a world that's determined to change him in a way that's authentic, relatable, and never takes itself too seriously. I can't wait to see what this bold new voice in queer writing produces next.

-David


Staff Pick Badge
The Lonely City: Adventures in the Art of Being Alone By Olivia Laing Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9781250118035
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - June 6th, 2017

Part personal memoir, part Art History text, this book thoughtfully explores how different individuals process the experience of loneliness. From the author's own tie living alone in New York City to art by Andy Warhol, Edward Hopper, and David Wojnarowicz where they expressed their reactions to isolation, this book spoke to me in a profound way. Meditative, deeply contemplative, and ultimately hopeful, this book is definitely worth the journey. 

-David


Staff Pick Badge
Diaries of a Terrorist By Christopher Soto Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781556596346
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Copper Canyon Press - May 3rd, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
The Women's House of Detention: A Queer History of a Forgotten Prison By Hugh Ryan Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781645036661
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bold Type Books - May 10th, 2022

This queer history text is part riveting cultural history, part call to arms. Anyone interested in the prison abolition movement should give this book a read, as it portrays a forgotten period of LGBTQ+ history and serves as a necessary reminder of how we arrived at the present moment and what we can do going forward. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Hours / Mrs. Dalloway: A Novel By Michael Cunningham, Virginia Woolf Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9781250852670
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - May 3rd, 2022

The Hours is one of my all-time favorite novels and I'm so glad it's been rereleased in this gorgeous new edition with Mrs.Dalloway, which features prominently in and inspired Michael Cunnigham's Pulitzer Prize-winning masterpiece. If you haven't read it yet, I'm jealous you get to experience it for the first time!

-David


Staff Pick Badge
Virology: Essays for the Living, the Dead, and the Small Things in Between By Joseph Osmundson Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780393881363
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - June 7th, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
The Charm Offensive: A Novel By Alison Cochrun Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781982170714
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - September 7th, 2021

A queer love story that takes place on the set of a reality competition dating show? Sign me up! Dev Deshpande, recently dumped hopeless romantic and producer on Ever After (think The Bachelor meets Disney) is the talent handler of “Prince Charming,” Charlie Winshaw, a tech wunderkind hiding a few secrets of his own. While working together, Dev and Charlie develop a growing attraction to each other, a development that could spell disaster for both of their professional lives. 

Come for the drama. Stick around to see if "Happily Ever After" is only real on reality TV.


Staff Pick Badge
Sirens & Muses: A Novel By Antonia Angress Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593496435
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - July 12th, 2022

Writing about being an artist can be tough. It’s hard to portray the struggles as well as the joys of being a creative person in a way that a general audience can understand, but Angress has done this delicately and with flair in her astounding debut, Sirens & Muses. By telling the story through the alternating perspectives of four different characters from wildly varying backgrounds, with differing life experiences and skill levels, she makes it difficult for readers to judge. Even if it’s not always possible to agree with how the characters behave, they all provide perspectives that deepen a reader’s understanding of the issues at play in this story about the complexities of life as an artist. Gripping, provocative, and supremely entertaining, this is one to watch out for.

-David


Staff Pick Badge
Born to Be Public By Greg Mania Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781944866877
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clash Books - June 15th, 2021

Staff Pick Badge
Temporary (Emily Books) By Hilary Leichter Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781566895668
Availability: Usually Available in 2-5 Days
Published: Coffee House Press - March 3rd, 2020

This gloriously surreal novel is the perfect read for anyone suffering from the burnout brought on by capitalist "hustle culture." Absurd, filled with 'WTF?!' moments, and insanely perceptive about life, I adored this quirky book! One of the most unique books I've had the pleasure of reading. - David