At Home with Literati: Alex McElroy & Crystal Hana Kim

Friday, June 11, 2021 - 7:00pm

We're pleased to welcome Alex McElroy to our At Home with Literati Series in support of The Atmospherians. They'll be joined in conversation by Crystal Hana Kim.

Click here to join the webinar event on 6/11.

Note: we are now hosting on Zoom webinars. You will be prompted to enter a first name and email upon joining. You may then see a window reading "waiting for host to start webinar," but sit tight--you will be admitted as soon as we begin broadcasting live! You will be able to submit questions using the Q&A feature.

Enjoying At Home with Literati? Donate $5 to sustain our programming here.

About the book: A "dazzling" (Bryan Washington, author of Lot ) and brilliantly satirical debut novel for fans of Women Talking and Red Clocks about two best friends--a disgraced influencer and a struggling actor--who form The Atmosphere, a cult designed to reform problematic men.

Sasha Marcus was once the epitome of contemporary success: an internet sensation, social media darling, and a creator of a high profile wellness brand for women. But a confrontation with an abusive troll has taken a horrifying turn, and now she's at rock bottom: canceled and doxxed online, fired from her waitress job and fortressed in her apartment while men's rights protestors rage outside. All that once glittered now condemns.

Sasha confides in her oldest childhood friend, Dyson--a failed actor with a history of body issues--who hatches a plan for Sasha to restore her reputation by becoming the face of his new business venture, The Atmosphere: a rehabilitation community for men. Based in an abandoned summer camp and billed as a workshop for job training, it is actually a rigorous program designed to rid men of their toxic masculinity and heal them physically, emotionally, and socially. Sasha has little choice but to accept. But what horrors await her as the resident female leader of a crew of washed up, desperate men? And what exactly does Dyson want?

Explosive and wickedly funny, this " Fight Club for the millennial generation" (Mat Johnson, author of Pym) peers straight into the dark heart of wellness and woke-ness, self-mythology and self-awareness, by asking what happens when we become addicted to the performance of ourselves.

Alex McElroy (they/them) is a nonbinary writer based in Brooklyn. They received their MFA from Arizona State University and their PhD from the University of Houston. Their writing has been supported by the Bread Loaf Writers' Conference, the Tin House Summer Workshop, the Sewanee Writers' Conference, and the Elizabeth George Foundation. The Atmospherians is their first novel.

Crystal Hana Kim is the author of If You Leave Me, which was a Booklist Editor’s Choice title and named a best book of 2018 by over ten publications, including The Washington Post. She was a 2021 Jerome Hill Artist Finalist and a 2017 PEN America Dau Short Story Prize winner. She teaches at Columbia University and is a contributing editor at Apogee Journal.

Event address: 
Live on your device
Books: 
The Atmospherians: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982158309
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - May 18th, 2021

If You Leave Me: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062645180
Availability: In Stock at Publisher - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - August 27th, 2019