You are here

At Home with Literati: Brit Bennett & Megha Majumdar

We're thrilled to welcome New York Times-bestselling author Brit Bennett to our At Home with Literati series in support of her new novel, The Vanishing Half. Brit will be in conversation with Megha Majumdar, author of the acclaimed, brand new novel A Burning

Click here to join the event on 6/4.

Note: meetings are now automatically password protected with wait rooms enabled. The password is entered automatically by clicking the link if you are logged into a Zoom account. We will let guests in off the waiting list shortly after 7 and throughout the event. If you join late, hang in there, we'll let you in when we see you. 

Enjoying At Home with Literati? Consider donating $5 to our ongoing fundraising. 

About The Vanishing HalfWeaving together multiple strands and generations of this family, from the Deep South to California, from the 1950s to the 1990s, Brit Bennett produces a story that is at once a riveting, emotional family story and a brilliant exploration of the American history of passingLooking well beyond issues of race, The Vanishing Half considers the lasting influence of the past as it shapes a person's decisions, desires, and expectations, and explores some of the multiple reasons and realms in which people sometimes feel pulled to live as something other than their origins.

As with her New York Times-bestselling debut The Mothers, Brit Bennett offers an engrossing page-turner about family and relationships that is immersive and provocative, compassionate and wise.

About A Burning: For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise--to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies--and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India.

Brit Bennett is the author of the New York Times–bestselling novel The Mothers; a finalist for the NBCC John Leonard Prize for the best first book, the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Debut Fiction, and the New York Public Library Young Lions Award; and a National Book Foundation 5 under 35 honoree. Her work has been featured in The New YorkerThe New York Times MagazineThe Paris Review, and Jezebel.

Megha Majumdar was born and raised in Kolkata, India. She moved to the United States to attend college at Harvard University, followed by graduate school in social anthropology at Johns Hopkins University. She works as an editor at Catapult, and lives in New York City. A Burning is her first book.

Event date: 
Thursday, June 4, 2020 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
Live on your computer
The Vanishing Half: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525536291
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - June 2nd, 2020

A Burning: A novel Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780525658696
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - June 2nd, 2020

The Mothers: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780399184529
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - October 10th, 2017