At Home with Literati: N West Moss & Marie Myung-Ok Lee

Monday, October 18, 2021 - 7:00pm

We're pleased to welcome N West Moss to our At Home with Literati Series in support of Flesh & Blood: Reflections on Infertility, Family, and Creating a Bountiful Life: A Memoir. She'll be in conversation with Marie Myung-Ok Lee.

Click here to join the webinar event on 10/18. No pre-registration required!

Note: we are now hosting on Zoom webinars. You will be prompted to enter a first name and email upon joining. You may then see a window reading "waiting for host to start webinar," but sit tight--you will be admitted as soon as we begin broadcasting live! You will be able to submit questions using the Q&A feature.

Enjoying At Home with Literati? Donate $5 to sustain our programming here.

About the book: A remarkable memoir that breaks the silence about infertility--and will resonate with millions of women.

"I drive and say to myself, if I am dying, if this is how I die, then this is how I die." When N. West Moss finds herself bleeding uncontrollably in the middle of a writing class, she drives herself to the hospital. Doctors are baffled, but eventually a diagnosis--hemangioma--is determined and a hysterectomy is scheduled. We follow Moss through her surgery, complications, and recovery as her thoughts turn to her previous struggles with infertility, to grief and healing, to what it means to leave a legacy.

Moss's wise, droll voice and limitless curiosity lift this beautiful memoir beyond any narrow focus. Among her interests: yellow fever, good cocktails, the history of New Orleans, and, always, the natural world, including the praying mantis in her sunroom whom she names Claude. And we learn about the inspiring women in Moss's family--her mother, her grandmother, and her great-grandmother--as she sorts out her feeling that this line will end with her. But Moss discovers that there are other ways besides having children to make a mark, and that grief is not a stopping place but a companion that travels along with us through everything, even happiness.

With public figures like Chrissy Teigen and Meghan, Duchess of Sussex, speaking out about infertility recently, women are eager for voices that acknowledge their struggles. Fans of Lena Dunham, Leslie Jamison, and Jenny Lawson--along with readers of medical memoirs like When Breath Becomes Air and The Bright Hour--will find that connection in Moss's Flesh & Blood.

N. West Moss has published a collection of short stories, and her award-winning essays have appeared in the New York Times, Salon.com, McSweeney's, and many other publications. She has a certificate in narrative medicine and works at a university in NJ, where she lives.

Marie Myung-Ok Lee’s next novel, The Evening Hero, is forthcoming with Simon & Schuster in 2022. She has written for The New York Times, Slate, The Guardian, The Nation, The Atlantic, The Paris Review, and Salon. She teaches fiction at Columbia where she is Writer in Residence. The essay series she did for Slate on treating her son with autism with cannabis will be featured in Dr. Sanjay Gupta's CNN series, "Weed."

Event address: 
Live on your device
Books: 
Flesh & Blood: Reflections on Infertility, Family, and Creating a Bountiful Life: A Memoir Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781643750705
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Books - October 12th, 2021

Finding My Voice Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781641291972
Availability: In Stock at Publisher - Usually Available in 1-5 Days
Published: Soho Teen - December 1st, 2020